There are four (4) kinds of visas to Sri Lanka which permit a person to enter and/or stay in this country.

  1. Visit Visa/ETA
    There are two sub-categories which come under visit visas :
    1. Tourist Visit Visa - A Tourist Visa is issued to bona-fide tourists who want to enter Sri Lanka for sightseeing, excursions, visit relatives for a short period of time.
    2. Business Purpose Visa - Issued to foreign nationals who visit Sri Lanka for business purposes for short period of time. This visa may be issued for single or double journeys.

  2. Residence Visa
    A residence visa is a permit for a non-Sri Lankan to obtain residence facilities for special purposes. There are eight (8) sub-categories which come under residence visas.

  3. Transit Visa 
    A Transit Visa is an entry permit granted to a foreign national for admission into Sri Lanka for a brief period which is incidental and in the course of his journey to another destination.

  4. Gratis Visa
    The holder of a Diplomatic or Official Passport or a passport with a valid Diplomatic or Official endorsement will not be required to pay any fees for the visa.